Mandatory since 1993, Rhode Island automobile insurance is required in when registering a vehicle. Here are a few tips to lower your Rhode Island auto insurance rates.
Proof of Rhode Island automobile insurance became mandatory in in 1993. Minimum state required limit for bodily injury is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident and property damage limit is $25,000. In order to obtain your two-year registration for your vehicle, in addition to being equipped with the $30 registration fee, you must provide proof of insurance for at least the state required minimum limits. Read also: Arizona Automobile Insurance.
If you're new to Rhode Island, and are thinking of getting a car, review the Rhode Island Department of Motor Vehicle's free driver's manual. You may download it from their site here. The state also offers the manual in Spanish for Spanish speaking individuals. Becoming familiar with Rhode Island automobile codes and laws will help you when purchasing insurance.
Since insurance is mandatory, it makes sense for you to place yourself in a position to get the best auto insurance rate as possible. Here are a few tips to think about when soliciting Rhode Island auto insurance quotes:
1- Type of Vehicle
Insurance companies prefer to insure safe vehicles. Cars with features such as anti-lock brakes, automatic seatbelts, daytime running lights, appear to be more favorable than those without those features. Additionally, they prefer the run of the mill sedan to the sporty red two seater with enough horse power to win the Indianapolis 500. Read also: How to Find the Right Auto Insurance for a Car.
2- How is your credit?
Insurance companies check your credit report and use it as one of the factors when determining your premium. According to their statistics, there is a direct relationship with credit and claims. A policyholder with many delinquencies, high debt to income ratio and poor credit history has been found to file more insurance claims than one who pays bills on time and has a favorable credit history. Keep an eye on your credit. Review it annually to ensure it is accurate.
3- Speak to your Agent
In today's society so much is done on line, but there's something to be said about talking to an agent. Call your Rhode Island auto insurance agent and have a discussion. Ask about discounts that may be applicable in your situation. If you are a student with good grades, let the agent know. Did you know that teens with grades of B or better would be eligible for a premium discount?
4- Safe Driver Education
You may be a seasoned driver, but taking a safety class can be a benefit. It will not only refresh your driving skills, but it will make you eligible to receive a premium discount. Talk to your agent before you take the class, however. No sense in sitting through a class that your insurance company does not recognize as a safe driver class. Read also: Extended Auto Warranty Companies.
Remember to shop around and get alternative quotes for Rhode Island auto insurance. The internet has made it easy to shop, but do not forget to touch base with a true live human representative of the insurance company. You want to make sure you get any and all possible premium saving credits when insuring your Rhode Island auto.